Dale Bryson Receives Long Rifle Award

Troop 422 Committee Chairman Dale Bryson is the latest receipient of the Long Rifle Award (District Award of Merit) in recognition of his work to the Trail of Tears District.  The award was presented at the District Leader’s Banquet held on Friday, March 7, 2008 at St. Mark’s United Methodist Church in Murfreesboro.

The requirements for the Long Rifle Award are:

  1. A nominee must have rendered noteworthy service in a registered or nonregistered (such as FOS or other chairman) capacity to the Boy Scouts of America.  NOTE: The nature and value of “noteworthy service” may consist of a single plan or decisions that contributed vitally to the lives of large numbers of youth or it may have been given to a small group over an extended period of time.
  2. The nominee should have received proper training for his position.
  3. Consideration must be given to the nominee’s Scouting position and the corresponding opportunity to render outstanding service beyond the expectations of that Scouting position.
  4. The nominee’s attitude toward and cooperation with the District and/or Council is to be taken into consideration.

At the banquet, the troop also received the Quality Unit award for 2008.

Recipients of the Long Rifle Award affliated with Troop 422 include:

  • 1995 – Kathy Herod
  • 1997 – Rick Meyers, David Shinn
  • 2000 – Stanley E. Dunn, Paul S. Todd
  • 2001 – Melody Rose
  • 2004 – Billy Necessary
  • 2005 – Tim Shaw
  • 2006 – Mike Hodges
  • 2007 – Dale Bryson
This entry was posted in 2008 News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s